thirdbridge

Lost In

A city guide curated by locals

The project

Lostin is a Berlin-based company which took on the mission of rethinking the travel guide in a very “Berlin way”. Their content is “curated by local experts” as the most renowned bloggers, journalists and photographers of the region contribute to a specific city guide, enticing you to get lost in the city.

From paper guides to their numerical embodiment: a mobile app - iOS & Android - which invites you to discover the most exceptional locations a city has to offer, as it allows for the planning of custom itineraries and facilitates transit. The app also supports offline usage, offering a city-specific data download system.

The challenges

The aesthetic quality of the product is of the highest importance at Lostin and it appears it is a most contagious sentiment. The design challenge was to contaminate the mobile app with the beauty and elegance of the paper guides, a challenge whose complexity is multiplied by platform specific considerations exclusive to both iOS and Android OS.

From a technical standpoint, the implementation of an in-app purchase system is a noteworthy accomplishment. That being said, the most stimulating task of this software project remains the development of the Data Warehouse; the conception of its instinctive interface, which optimizes the data entry process, and of its architecture, which optimizes the data delivery speed.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3 4 5

02.

Design

02.

Design

Color palette:
We based the color palette on the Berlin issue of Lostin because that’s where they are based.

Primary typeface:

Secondary typeface:

Iconography:

App icon:

03.

Website

  • Blog (WordPress)
  • Ecommerce (WooCommerce)
  • Paper guides sold online
  • SEO

04.

Data Warehouse

Introducing the Data Warehouse: a web-based platform - powered by Node.js and the Yeoman framework - and a full content management solution. This software supports the contribution of multiple users, integrates the Google Places service, for a quick and accurate autocompletion of the locations’ descriptive form, and implements a synchronisation system with the Amazon S3 service in order to alleviate the Web server’s burden and to deliver media content with swiftness and reliability.

Find your next travel destination today.

thirdbridge

Lost In

Le guide de voyage réinventé

Le projet

À l’origine, Lostin c’est le guide voyage réinventé, une réinvention des plus Berlinoises réunissant les impressions et critiques des blogueurs, journalistes et photographes les plus notoires d’une région… Là où Lostin vous invite à vous perdre.

Du guide papier l’on passait à une incarnation numérique portable sous la forme d’une application mobile - iOS & Android - invitant à la découverte des endroits les plus exceptionnels qu’une ville a à offrir, permettant l’élaboration d’itinéraires personnalisés et facilitant les déplacements. L’app dispose aussi d’un système de téléchargement des données afin de supporter une utilisation hors ligne et ainsi accorder une pleine liberté explorative.

Les défis

La qualité esthétique du produit est une préoccupation de premier ordre chez Lostin et il s’agit là d’un sentiment contagieux. Le défi design de ce projet était donc de contaminer l’application mobile de la beauté et de l’élégance propres aux guides papiers dont elle est la représentation numérique, un défi dont la complexité est décuplée par les considérations spécifiques et exclusives aux différentes plateformes iOS et Android.

D’un point de vue technique, l’implémentation d’un système d’achat au sein de l’application s’est avérée un accomplissement notable. Cela dit, la tâche la plus stimulante de ce projet logiciel demeure le développement d’une plateforme d’entrée de données (data warehouse) à l’utilisation instinctive permettant d’optimiser le processus de création de contenu ainsi que la rapidité de sa transmission aux utilisateurs mobiles.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3 4 5

02.

Design

02.

Design

Palette de couleurs:
La palette de couleur est identique à celle qu’avait déjà créée l’équipe de Lostin pour leur édition Berlinoise.

Première police d'écriture:

Seconde police d'écriture:

Iconographie:

Icône de l'application:

03.

Website

  • Blog (WordPress)
  • Ecommerce (WooCommerce) - Vente des guides papier
  • SEO

04.

Data Warehouse

Il s’agit d’une plateforme Web - propulsée par Node.js et le cadriciel Yeoman - permettant la création et la gestion du contenu que l’on retrouve sur les applications mobiles. Parmi ses mérites figurent la gestion de plusieurs types d’utilisateurs, l’intégration de Google Places, pour une autocomplétion prompte et précise des fiches descriptives des différents emplacements figurant dans les guides, et l’implémentation d’un système de synchronisation avec le service Amazon S3, cela afin d’alléger la charge du serveur Web et livrer le contenu média avec rapidité et fiabilité.

Trouve ta prochaine destination aujourd'hui.