thirdbridge

Formplast

Inventory and production management system

The project

CP Formplast is a company which operates in the field of thermoformed plastic packaging. Their facility, measuring more than 50 000 square feet, is host to a variety of state-of-the-art equipment which enables the conception and mass production of a selection of plastic packages. To complement (inadequately) this advanced technology is an outdated inventory management system, which is currently partly paper-based and partly digital. Such a system can prove fallible in many ways and give rise to costly errors. Its usage, often tedious, can be time-consuming and irritating for the plant’s operators, resulting in productivity loss.

The solution: develop a fleet of mobile softwares specifically adapted to the needs of each production stage and linked to a Web platform that implements a digital inventory management system.

The result: fewer errors, optimized communication, increased productivity, efficiency and overall content of the work force. In the end, the plant’s profitability is significantly increased.

The challenges

The key for this project was to adjust each software to the precise and exclusive needs of every production stage. This required isolating a subset of the system’s many functionalities in four different applications with very specific roles:

1. An inventory management mobile application which can also be used to order raw materials and schedule end-product deliveries;

2. A raw material request mobile application (used by the production line operators to inform the inventory managers of their immediate needs);

3. An end-product availability mobile application (used by the production line operators to inform the inventory managers of the result of their production process and the availability of end products for shipping);

4. An all-mighty Web application that allows supervisors to have a clear overview of the plant’s global production process in every detail and to intervene on every level if need be.

In order to simplify the system’s usage, laser scanner and barcode printing technologies were integrated, allowing for a real time monitoring of the raw materials and end products’ flow within the plant’s production line. Also, thanks to socket and push notification technologies, the mobile applications keep operators informed of the inventory’s fluctuations which affect them and offer a communication channel that allows them to notify colleagues of their needs.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3 4

02.

Design

02.

Design

Color palette:

Iconography:

App icon:

03.

Web platform

The system’s Web component is powered by Node.js and the Yeoman framework. It implements real-time inventory management and monitoring, administration of an order/delivery calendar and the creation and modification of user accounts and their respective rights. It is also the software that connects them all, with every mobile application synchronizing their data to that of the Web-based application. The mobile apps also communicate via sockets with the Web-app to receive push notifications.

thirdbridge

Formplast

Système de gestion d'inventaires et de production

Le projet

CP Formplast est une compagnie oeuvrant dans le domaine de l’emballage en plastique thermoformé. Son usine de plus de 50 000 pieds carrés réunit une foule d’équipements à la fine pointe de la technologie qui permettent la conception et la production de masse d’emballages plastiques en tous genres. Et pour accompagner (inadéquatement) cette technologie de pointe, un système de gestion d’inventaire vétuste reposant sur l’utilisation à la fois de fiches papiers et numériques. Un tel système peut s’avérer faillible de bien des façons, souvent par manque de régularisation, ce qui engendre inévitablement des erreurs coûteuses. Son utilisation parfois astreignante peut être la cause de pertes de temps et d’irritation chez les employés de l’usine, résultant en une baisse de productivité.

La solution : développer une flotte de logiciels mobiles adaptés aux besoins spécifiques de chaque étape de la production et liés à une plateforme Web qui implémente un système numérique de gestion d’inventaire.

Le résultat : limiter les erreurs, optimiser les communications, augmenter la productivité, l’efficacité et la satisfaction des employés et, au final, la rentabilité de l’usine.

Les défis

L’ajustement des logiciels aux besoins précis et exclusifs de chaque étape de production est ici la clé de la solution. Il s’agit d’isoler un sous-ensemble des multiples fonctionnalités du système global sur quatre plateformes au rôle spécifique :

1. Application mobile de gestion d’inventaire, de commandes de matières premières et de livraison des produits finis;

2. Application mobile de demande de matières premières (utilisée par les travailleurs de la chaîne de production afin d’informer les gestionnaires de l’inventaire de leurs besoins immédiats);

3. Application mobile de disponibilité des produits finis (utilisée par les travailleurs de la chaîne de production afin d’informer les gestionnaires de l’inventaire du résultat de leur production et de la disponibilité de produits finis pour la livraison);

4. Application Web toute puissante qui permet aux superviseurs d’avoir un aperçu global et détaillé des opérations de l’usine et d’intervenir à tous les niveaux si besoin est.

Afin de simplifier l’utilisation du système nous lui avons adjoint une technologie de scanners lasers et d’impression de code-barres. Le flot des matières premières et produits finis peut ainsi être surveillé de près et en temps réel. Grâce aux technologies des sockets et des push notifications, les applications mobiles tiennent les opérateurs informés des fluctuations de l’inventaire qui les concernent et leur offrent un canal de communication instantané pour notifier leurs collègues de leurs besoins.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3 4

02.

Design

02.

Design

Palette de couleurs:

Iconographie:

Icône de l'application:

03.

Plateforme web

L’élément Web du système logiciel CP Formplast est propulsé par Node.js et le cadriciel Yeoman. Il permet la gestion et la visualisation de l’inventaire en temps réel, l’administration du calendrier de livraisons et de commandes ainsi que la création et l’édition de comptes utilisateurs et de leurs droits respectifs. Il s’agit aussi du logiciel auquel se synchronise la flotte d’applications mobiles et avec lequel elles établissent une communication via sockets pour recevoir les notifications.