thirdbridge

Bel

Peal to Reveal

The project

This project is all fun; both in terms of the production as the final product itself. The assignment was to develop a game of chance using the Bel Cheese theme, all the while supporting the participation of up to four simultaneous players. At the end of the game, one of the players is crowned winner and thus, gains a very cheezy grand prize.

During Bel Cheese’s marketing campaign, dozens of gaming stations were placed in various grocery stores across Canada. Each station was equipped with four iPads, a LAN system - better known as Local Area Network - and a dedicated host with a mission to promote Babybel and Laughing Cow's delicious cheeses. At this game, winner or not, every participant left the table with a discount on Bel products as well as a gourmet surprise.

The challenges

The complexity lays in the conception and the development of a LAN system capable of managing the participation of two to four players, each equipped with their own game pad and entrusted with the task of enforcing the rules of the game. In this case, the challenge was both software hardware-related.

At the level of the mobile application, special consideration was given to the various animations enlivening the interface and to the quality of the explanations relating to the rules of play.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3

02.

LAN (Local Area Network)

The software is powered by Node.js and runs on a Raspberry Pie miniature computer. This computer, coupled with a router, allows for each of the four iPads to execute an instance of the mobile app and to join a multiplayer game simply by connecting the famous LAN. All of this of very limited size and easily concealed under the gaming table.

thirdbridge

Bel

Déballer pour s’emballer

Le projet

Le projet en est un des plus ludiques, autant au niveau du produit que de sa production. Le mandat était de développer un jeu de hasard ayant pour thème la Fromagerie Bel et supportant la participation de deux à quatre joueurs simultanément. L’un d’entre eux, au terme d’une partie, est sacré grand gagnant et remporte de ce fait un grand prix fromagé.

Des dizaines de stations de jeu furent disposées dans tout autant d’épiceries à travers le Canada au cours d’une campagne médiatique. Chacune d’entre elles était munie de quatre iPads, d’un système de réseau local - mieux connu sous le nom de Local Area Network ou LAN - et d’un animateur dévoué chargé d’une prestigieuse mission promotionnelle au profit des fromages Babybel et La petite vache qui rit. À ce jeu, grand gagnant ou pas, tous les participants quittaient la table avec un rabais sur les produits de la Fromagerie Bel ainsi qu’une surprise gourmande.

Les défis

La complexité résidait en la conception et l’élaboration d’un réseau local capable de gérer la participation de deux à quatre joueurs, chacun disposant de sa propre tablette de jeu, et de faire respecter les règles du jeu aux appareils participants. Le défi en était un logiciel (software) de même que matériel (hardware).

Au niveau de l’application mobile, une considération particulière a été accordée aux différentes animations égayant l’interface et à la sobriété des explications relatives aux règles de jeu.

01.

Mobile

1 2 3

02.

Réseau local (LAN)

Le logiciel est propulsé par Node.js et supporté par un ordinateur miniature Raspberry Pie. Cet ordinateur, couplé à un routeur, permet à chacun des quatre iPads d’exécuter une instance de l’application mobile et de rejoindre une partie multijoueur simplement en se connectant au fameux LAN. Le tout de taille menue et aisément dissimulable sous la station de jeu.